People Get Ready

[ make levees, not war ]

I’m not supporting carpetbaggers anymore

Posted by schroeder915 on December 9, 2006

I went to my usual post-Katrina barber this afternoon. It’s a convenient walk from my post-Katrina apartment. It’s not a great place for a haircut. I just like it for the comfort of a decent haircut, average folks, and the familiar smell of a barber shop. I’m not sure I’ll go back after today.

The guy cutting my hair was very agreeable. No problem there. He made some small talk about holiday shopping. I said I was going down to Festivus on Sunday, and the Kingpin flea market, and would be browsing the shops on Magazine Street and the French Quarter for some uniquely New Orleans gifts.

One of the cultural benefits of living in a place like New Orleans is the rich diversity of locally-owned niche stores. We’ve already lost too many of them due to Hurricane Katrina, and to the failure of the Bush administration to support small business owners here.

The barber responded that he lived in Slidell and did all his Christmas shopping on Wednesday at the outlet mall in Biloxi. Yeah, forty percent off. No, he didn’t know if that was forty percent off of the usual prices, or forty percent off of inflated outlet prices. Aside from the fact that I’m glad I’m not getting any gifts from that guy, I thought to myself, “what a carpetbagger!”

I found it difficult to be sociable after that. The guy earns his living in New Orleans, lives on the North Shore, and doesn’t even patronize Louisiana businesses for the biggest shopping season of the year! That’s like eating seed before it’s sewn. He’s taking money from New Orleanians — many of whom are small business owners themselves, unsure how long they can hang on — and he’s spending their money across the state line in a mall, effectively exporting New Orleans dollars to another state in a crummy little franchise shopping mall.

If everyone did that, New Orleans would look like … well … Biloxi.

staylocallist.gif

You can make a difference in New Orleans. Make a statement. Join the more than 350 people who have pledged make at least 25 percent of their holiday purchases in New Orleans. The goal is for 1000 people to pledge.

I think 25 percent is a pretty low target. I find that I’m far more productive, and find gifts that people appreciate more, when I shop in locally-owned businesses, because the creativity, craftsmanship, and quality is so much greater than one can find in a mall.

Find out who your local businesses are by using the Stay Local directory.

Happy holidays!

Related:

Community Gumbo – Stay Local this holiday season

 

Elizabeth Mullener – Your City is a Gift

 

Chris Rose – Shop or We’ll Drop

 

Mac Ball – Shop Locally for Our Sake

 

Patricia Livingston – Donate old blankets to pets at LA/SPCA

 

Judy Walker – Restock and Rejoice

2 Responses to “I’m not supporting carpetbaggers anymore”

  1. rickbrah said

    ive been shopping local as much as possible my whole life. starting with neighborhood to orleans parish to region to american. it allways pained me to see my neighbors cross the parish line before the storm in the perception they were saving some money.

    the day terranovas reopened was a day of great joy. no more going to jefferson for substance.

    not only is this small mom and pop store full of good deals and some of the best seasonal produce. they got the hookup for you carnivores.

    ive been going there since i was a boy and there was allways a joint like that my whole life no matter what neighborhood i have lived in over the years.

    sadley those days are gone.

    yes shop local. buy your gifts local. but keep up your daily purchases locally as well when ever possiable as well.

    any body know of any other old school corner stores like terranovas? i would gladly spread my dollers around to them as well to keep my money in the parish. thanks in advance for any info in this dept.

  2. Steve said

    Shit, I dont even live in Louisiana and I shop there more than this guy! Ever since “the K word” I’ve made it a point to buy Louisiana whenever possible. I look for the labels, and purchase accordingly. If nothing else, it allows me to at least feel like I’m trying to make a difference. You would think he’d act in turn as well……

Leave a Reply

 
