People Get Ready

[ make levees, not war ]

Since I’ve been called an elitist …

Posted by schroeder915 on December 7, 2006

I don’t take kindly to being called names, so I’m going to post my response to a recent Gentilly Town Hall discussion right here, front and center (if that link doesn’t work, go to the Gentilly Town Hall forum main page, and look for topic number 1104).

Gentilly Girl, with whom I don’t wish any animosity, nevertheless chose to take me to the mat in response to an earlier PGR post:

He/she asks “Do you think you might like to have some airtime to get the word out about your neighborhood battles?” and ironically above that line questions the motive of the demolition of Cabrini Church. I’m sure the church isn’t located in Schroeder’s neighborhood. The irony of the elite preservationists dictating to an entire neighborhood what they can and cannot do in order to rebuild and recover. So, please log on to his blog and get the word out about YOUR neighborhood.

Since there appears to be a gross misunderstanding about my position, and since the call was made to use my forum to “get the word out,” I shall clarify:

Ah … if you’re talking about how I went into your house to help gut it, well, then yes, I guess you could say I *am* part of the preservationist *elite* — only in so far as there aren’t enough people doing this dirty work. But if you wish to associate me with some sort of conspiracy against your neighborhood, you’re dead wrong. As I’ve stated on your blog, Gentilly Girl, I couldn’t give a hoot what happens to that church. I simply believe that these issues should be given a complete public airing. Were I to resort to name-calling, I might call you and your neighborhood activists destruction elitists for wanting to take possession of a church which is owned by the church parish, not by the Archdiocese. I might call you part of the Catholic elite, or perhaps part of Walter William Maestri’s elite — a select group which makes decisions behind closed doors, and when they don’t get what they want, they become insolent and stomp their feet and cry foul. What really sickens me is what little consideration is given to public hearings on these issues, so that civil dialog, understanding, and hopefully, compromise, can be achieved. What really sickens me is how a Christian institution, the Archdiocese, chooses to pit communities against one another for the sake of a piece of land and a few buildings, rather than to seek harmony among people. All who care about New Orleans as a community, and yes, who care about preservation of its heritage, should care about how these issues are resolved. It’s about *the process*, not my attitude one way or another about *the building*.

Until very recently, the media has weighed heavily in favor of “progress” and the “wreckingballistas.” WWL TV covered the preservationist angle on the 10:00 news last night (I couldn’t find the archived video).

You know what’s really pathetic, and at the core of this battle? The fact that neighborhoods are struggling at all to justify their existence and economic well-being. Where’s the effing leadership in this town? In the United effing States of America?!!

4 Responses to “Since I’ve been called an elitist …”

  1. Steve said

    Please read the below if you haven’t already. I’d like to know your take on it. Kind of puts everything in perspective.

    http://energybulletin.net/23259.html

  2. To Steve said

    “Naturally, the common people don’t want war … but after all it is the leaders of a country who determine the policy, and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along, whether it is a democracy, or a fascist dictatorship, or a parliament, or a communist dictatorship. Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to the bidding of the leaders. That is easy. All you have to do is to tell them they are being attacked, and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger. It works the same in every country.” [Hermann Goering]

    “The unwilling, led by the incompetent, to do the unnecessary, for the ungrateful” [found inscribed on a vietnam-era coffin]

    “Every gun that is made, every warship launched, every rocket fired signifies in the final sense, a theft from those who hunger and are not fed, those who are cold and are not clothed. This world in arms is not spending money alone. It is spending the sweat of its laborers, the genius of its scientists, the hopes of its children. This is not a way of life at all in any true sense. Under the clouds of war, it is humanity hanging on a cross of iron.” [ Dwight Eisenhower ]

    “History teaches that war begins when governments believe the price of aggression is cheap.” [ Ronald Reagan ]

    “They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.” [ Benjamin Franklin ]

    “During almost fifteen centuries has the legal establishment of Christianity been on trial. What have been its fruits? More or less in all places, pride and indolence in the clergy, ignorance and servility in the laity, in both, superstition, bigotry and persecution.” [James Madison]

    “War is Peace. Freedom is Slavery. Ignorance is Strength.” [Big Brother]

    “To announce that there must be no criticism of the president, or that we are to stand by the president right or wrong, is not only unpatriotic and servile, but is morally treasonable to the American public.” [ Theodore Roosevelt ]

  3. Darlin’, that was a different commenter from the area possibly scamming on my moniker and the fact that I’m on the Board of GCIA and am a supporter of the Holy Cross move. (I was under the impression that the Diocese was tearing the church down when this started months ago.)

    As far as Cabrini Church goes, I don’t care one way or another. It’s an interesting building that is too expensive to operate (ask the Diocese) or repair (the Diocese let it rot after the Flood). Holy Cross is better for that site and the city at this point in time IMHO.

    Pick another building in the city that may be destroyed during the rebuilding and I very well may come in on the building’s side. It all depends on the factors in play.

    I hope this dispels and misgivings you have about me and my interests.

    Namaste!

  4. Schroeder said

    Hmm … you have a popular moniker, but understandable that one should choose such a pseudonym if you’re a girl living in Gentilly. In any event, I mean no harm — I assure you. BTW, it is “the factors in play” which are being contested. The question, as far as I’m concerned, are the rules of the game, and who’s dealing the cards.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
