People Get Ready

[ make levees, not war ]

Can’t update blogger

Posted by schroeder915 on August 22, 2006

Blogger sucks.

It might be time to change.

11 Responses to “Can’t update blogger”

  1. Michael said

    I’ve been having on-again, off-again problems with Blogger–again–since late last week.

    Grrr…

  2. Maitri said

    Do you want me to help you get set up with WordPress? I’ve been meaning to send you a note to change for a while. Your comments section is very valuable and Blogger is not good about making it widely searchable.

  3. Schroeder said

    What about that Maitri? Can I transfer the whole blog, comments, photos and all?

    Suz-at-large shared her experience of switching from blogger to typepad. She said it was fairly seamless to transfer her posts:

    Here’s what she said:

    “About the move from Blogger to Typepad. It turned out to be a snap to move all the posts in one fell swoop. But many of the images didn’t transfer – the ones I uploaded to Blogger. I’ve been going back through and just inserting them one by one in the Typepad posts. The images that were directly linked from my Flickr account, showed up in Typepad just fine.

    Verdict: Moving text was a breeze, the images weren’t. Also, I don’t do a lot of fancy stylin’ with my blog text, not sure how some of that would transfer over.”

    I have a *LOT* of images. I don’t look forward to moving them.

    The alternative would be to just set up a new site, and link back to the old PGR blogger site.

  4. Tara said

    Oh, no! I need my near-daily Schroeder awareness posts! I came back today eagerly looking for your thoughts on the first two acts of Lee’s documentary…only to read further comments in the film discussion and discover that you are not a slave to cable TV (good for you!). Being the cable-addict that I am, I watched the first two acts and I’ll watch the remainder tonight.

    I have to say that I am not sure I can wait for you to see the film on DVD in order to read your perceptions. Get thee to a friend’s house and “share” their cable or satellite goodness! Or, at the very least accept a humble VHS copy via the U.S. Post from your’s truly.

    It’s odd, but I didn’t cry…much. I expected to be bawling on the sofa, but I think I’ve seen so much footage and I watched it all happen from afar on the news, that most of the footage was not new to me. Don’t misunderstand — I was sad and mad (I still am and will probably be so for a while…the natural trajectory, you know?), but the tears were minimal.

    Keeping up with day to day progress via your blog and the TP online at nola.com has helped me stay current. I have not forgotten, and I could never forget even if I wanted to.

    I think the film will have a greater impact on people who have not had to live firsthand with the aftermath or who have not had their own lives affected by the disaster.

    What I mostly kept thinking about was how people who lived through it felt watching the film, and whether or not any of this footage was new or shocking to them. Last year, as I began to locate my friends after the storm, in many cases they had been without power or access to a TV for the first week so they did not see the minute by minute live updates that kept me glued to the television on any and every channell…I even watched the FOX news network on occasion….More news, more news, more news until I thought I would burst), and even calling in sick one day because I felt guilty for not at the very least being a long distance witness to the events. It was weird to have my New Orleans friends asking me for information and news because they were without power, etc.

    One of my girlfriends said she was actually glad the power was out on the North Shore at her parents’ house so she wouldn’t be compelled to obsessively watch the news. She felt like that would have just been too much to watch.

    With that said, tonight’s half of the film will probably be the part that wrecks my emotional composure!

    Anyway…yes, I will be anxious to hear your thoughts on the film given the last related posting. Here’s wishing you a peaceful, productive day.

  5. JM said

    I’ll second the recommendation of WordPress for basic blogging – easy to customize, smooth working. Negatives: I’ve noticed some of the fancier modules breaking across upgrades, and I’ve never seen a calendar module for WordPress that I really liked. But neither of those should apply if you’re wanting just a straightforward blog.

    Can’t say anything about porting to WordPress from Blogger.

    If you’re looking to add site features besides just a blog, you might want to research wikis instead. They usually include blogs, but do other things better. On the downside, they’re more complicated to manage.

  6. Editor B said

    Importing your posts from Blogger to WordPress is easy. Images from past posts aren’t a problem, as they can continue to live on blogspot.com. Starting a WordPress blog on wordpress.com is easy and just as free as blogspot.com. Setting it up on your own domain gives you more flexibility but also more headaches. Depends on how geeky you wanna get. I recommend WordPress to all my Blogger friends.

  7. Mark said

    Alan (and Bart and Maitri): maybe this is something you want to show a bunch of us blogger loosers how to do, once and as a group. Then we can all spread out and do it.

    I hate to lose my “position” on Technorati, as I”m sure it brings in some odd, browsing traffic, but c’est levee.

  8. Suz said

    Maitri, Schroeder and everybody else: A big thank you, everybody! I just spent a few minutes and no money (heh, heh) signing up at WordPress and importing my Blogger blog contents into the WP blog.

    About the images. At first when scrolling through the new blog it seemed the images didn’t transfer from Blogger. BUT I saw there were teensy little gray skinny rectangles where they shoulda been. All I had to do was click on “Edit” for the post, then the full images appeared when I was in the edit screen. So all I had to do was tweak the layout if I wished, then hit “save” and my post was complete. No finding and uploading the images. They were all there (or the links to their spot on blogger.com were there), just needed to be sized correctly. Which the WordPress system did for me when I clicked “edit.” If that makes sense.

    I’m still in my typepad account free trial period, and if I like WordPress as well as typepad I can continue in WP and save the bucks by dropping out of typepad before my trial time expires.

    New blog is at http://suzatlarge.wordpress.com/

    Again, thanks to all who pointed me to WordPress.

    Courage, Schroeder – a transfer to WordPress might work for you too! 🙂

  9. Interesting info. I am getting frustrateder and frustrateder with uploading images on Blogger. Working with inserting text among images is a big pain too.

    Anyone have experience with WordPress and my type of blogging?

  10. Schroeder said

    Thanks guys. I’m going to explore the wiki thing before venturing forth with WordPress. Thanks for the wiki suggestion jm. I can probably get some help with that from Alan.

  11. Loki said

    Another vote for WordPress. I ported my posts over from my old blogger site in about 3 minutes when I transferred.

    Alan, Maitri, and Barticus are invaluable resources for this.

    Great seeing you and the Rollergirl at the Geek Dinner!

Leave a Reply

 
