People Get Ready

[ make levees, not war ]

How not to say you’re sorry

Posted by schroeder915 on May 25, 2006

2,458 American soldiers killed in Iraq; 17,648 injured.

Oh well … there may have been a couple of mistakes:

QUESTION: Mr. President, you spoke about missteps and mistakes in Iraq.

Could I ask both of you which missteps and mistakes of your own you most regret?

BUSH: Sounds like kind of a familiar refrain here.

Saying, “Bring it on”; kind of tough talk, you know, that sent the wrong signal to people. I learned some lessons about expressing myself maybe in a little more sophisticated manner, you know. “Wanted, dead or alive”; that kind of talk. I think in certain parts of the world it was misinterpreted. And so I learned from that.

BUSH: And, you know, I think the biggest mistake that’s happened so far, at least from our country’s involvement in Iraq, is Abu Ghraib. We’ve been paying for that for a long period of time.

One Response to “How not to say you’re sorry”

  1. Lenny Zimmermann said

    I heard that this morning on the radio. I was flabbergasted that our imperious leader felt that one of his biggest mistakes was saying “Bring it on”. It just tells me the man lives in a friggin’ bubble utterly unexposed to any real criticism other than that of his personal image. Saying “bring it on” was his big mistake? Yowsa!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
